New Delhi, April 04, 2021: The National Rifle Association of India (NRAI), the governing body of the Olympic sport of Shooting in the country, today announced a 15-member Indian contingent for the upcoming Tokyo 2020 Olympics in July. The Selection Committee after a meeting on Sunday afternoon which lasted over five hours, also announced a set of 14 reserve shooters for each of the eligible events, particularly with an eye on the raging Covid-19 pandemic, as had been suggested last month by the NRAI President, Mr Raninder Singh.


Reigning world number one in Women’s 10M Air Rifle Elavenil Valarivan, was the only athlete to have been picked in the team, who had not won, one of the 15-quotas won by the National Team. She would avail of the quota won by Anjum Moudgil in the event.


It was also decided by the National Selection Committee that the quota won by Chinki Yadav in the Women’s 25M Pistol would be swapped in favour of Anjum Moudgil, to enable her to compete in the Women’s 50M Rifle 3 Positions event as India’s second entry alongside former World Champion Tejaswini Sawant.


The quota won for the nation can only be swapped within the same gender.


Manu Bhaker, whose overall performances in the Women’s 25M Pistol had been better, the Committee felt, would take advantage of the double-start rule and compete in both the Women’s 10M Air Pistol and the 25M Pistol individual events.


Anjum would also compete in the Mixed Air Rifle Team competition alongside Deepak Kumar as India’s second team in the event. Elavenil and Divyansh would form the first pairing. Apurvi Chandela, therefore, competes only in the Women’s 10M Air Rifle individual competition.


Commenting on the team, Mr. Singh said, “The National Selection Committee’s main focus was to select the strongest squad for the Games and to ensure that the most consistent performers in each event, during the course of this entire Olympic cycle, do not miss out. I believe they have done an excellent job on both those fronts and we are confident that this selection will deliver.” He added, “The selection I believe has been done purely on merit and in keeping with the provisions of NRAI’s Olympic selection ranking policy. This merit based approach has enabled us to field a third specialist shooter in the Women’s 10M Air Rifle events as well as go with the two best shooters in Women’s 25M Pistol event.”


The official Team list along with the Reserve squad is attached with this communication.


A meeting of the Selection Committee of NRAI was held at 1 PM on 4th April 2021, at A-8, Nizamuddin East, New Delhi. The following members were present during the meeting:


1. Shri Raninder Singh, President NRAI

2. Shri D.V. Seetharama Rao, Secretary General NRAI (attended through Zoom App)

3. Shri Moraad Ali Khan, Eminent shooter

4. Ms. Deepali Deshpande, High-Performance Coach (Senior Rifle)

5. Shri Manoj Kumar, Chief Coach (Senior Rifle)

6. Shri Samaresh Jung, High-Performance Coach (Senior Pistol)

7. Shri Ved Prakash Pilaniya, Chief Coach (Senior Pistol)

8. Shri Mansher Singh, Chief Coach (Senior Shotgun)

9. Ms. Suma Shirur, Chief Coach (Junior Rifle)

10. Shri Jaspal Rana, Chief Coach (Junior Pistol)

11. Shri Mikhailov Oleg, Foreign Coach (Senior Rifle)

12. Shri Smirnov Pavel, Foreign Coach (Senior Pistol)