Bengaluru, 16th December 2022: The Karnataka Renewable Energy Development Ltd (KREDL) came first in the State Designated Agency (SDA Group-1) sector at the National Energy Conservation Awards 2022, arranged by the Union Ministry of Power.

The Bureau of Energy Efficiency (BEE) as part of the ‘National Energy Conservation Day’ at Vigyan Bhawan in Delhi on Thursday organised the National Energy Conservation Awards 2022.

Droupadi Murmu, president of India, presented the award to Kumar Naik, Additional Chief Secretary (Energy) to the government of Karnataka, and Rudrappaiah, K.P. MD, Karnataka Renewable Energy Development Ltd. (KREDL) for their achievements in the energy conservation.

Minister for Energy, Kannada, and Culture, V. Sunil Kumar congratulated the KREDL officials and said, “Energy conservation plays a crucial role in combating the challenges of climate change and global warming. Our department is focused on energy conservation, clean and green energy initiatives. We aim to achieve energy conservation by creating awareness about energy conservation and improving energy efficiency.”

The State Energy Efficiency Index (SEEI) 2022 had assessed the performance of thirty-six (36) states and UTs on their energy efficiency initiatives during 2020-21 and 2021-22, and the KREDL has carried out an assessment study of all the cross sectors in the state to provide the details for SEEI 2022.