New Delhi, 25th April 2022: The Special Judge (Coal Cases), Rouse Avenue Courts, Delhi has today sentenced three accused in a case related to Patrapara coal block allocation during 2006. The Court imposed fine of Rs. 30 lakh on accused company i.e. M/s. Adhunik Corporation Ltd and awarded 04 years Rigorous Imprisonment to its Promoter/Directors Sh. Nirmal Kumar Agarwal & Mahesh Kumar Agarwal alongwith fine of Rs. 30 lakh each. All the convicted persons/firm are based at Kolkata.

CBI had registered the instant case on 11.09.2014. Earlier, a Preliminary Enquiry was initiated by CBI on the directions from CVC related to coal blocks allocated during the period from 2006 to 2009.

During investigation, it was revealed that the Patrapara Coal block was got allocated, by the accused company on the misrepresentation of production capacity as well as other false & forged documents, etc., from the 30th Screening Committee, and accordingly, Allocation Letter dated 13.01.2006 was issued by the MOC in favour of M/s. Adhunik Corporation Ltd.

After investigation, a charge-sheet was filed against the accused.

The Trial Court found the said accused guilty and convicted them.