Friyana Munshi

Kolkata, March 19, 2021: West Bengal central observer Kailash Vijayvargiya, provided information regarding BJP’s manifesto for the assembly elections on Friday. “The manifesto of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) for the West Bengal assembly elections will be released by Union Home Minister Amit Shah on March 21,” he said.

For the BJP, the Union Home Minister Amit Shah and Prime Minister Narendra Modi are campaigning currently in Bengal. The elections will be conducted for 294 Assembly seats in 8 phases from March 27 to April 29. The results will be announced on 2 May. The Trinamool Congress has announced candidates for 291 seats on Friday for the assembly elections in West Bengal. In the distribution of tickets, the emphasis has been laid on youth, minorities, women, and backward communities.

Earlier, in the 2016 assembly elections in West Bengal, Mamata Banerjee’s party TMC had won an absolute majority against all the predictions. Mamata’s party won 211 seats in the 294-member assembly. The Congress-Left alliance won only 76 seats. In these, the Congress was in a very good position with the Left and won 44 seats. There were 26 seats won by the CPM and only one seat won by the CPI. AIFB won two and RSP won three seats.