Visakhapatnam, August 2023: The GITAM Institute of Medical Sciences & Research (GIMSR), Visakhapatnam, recently held the third Graduation Ceremony for MBBS students of the outgoing 2023 batch at the campus.

Graced by distinguished figures from the field of medicine and academia, the event had Prof. Sanjay Zodpey, the esteemed President of the Public Health Foundation of India as the chief guest. In his inspiring address, Prof. Zodpey spoke about the persistent disparities in healthcare based on socioeconomic status, geography, and gender in our nation, and urged the graduates to take up the mantle of leadership and contribute to bridging the gap in healthcare equity across India.

GITAM President Sribharat Mathukumilli, extended heartfelt congratulations to the new aspiring medicos, acknowledging the immense pride they brought to their families by donning the noble profession of medicine. He emphasized the institution’s commitment to reaching the unreached and imparting excellence in healthcare training.

GITAM Vice-Chancellor Prof. Dayananda Siddavattam emphasized the importance of interdisciplinary research in the health sector. He encouraged the young doctors to engage in groundbreaking projects, particularly in the domain of new drug discovery, to further advance medical science.

Presiding over the ceremony was the Pro-Vice Chancellor of GIMSR, Dr. B. Geetanjali, who warmly congratulated the graduates on their remarkable achievement. Dr. S.P. Rao, the Dean of GIMSR, reiterated the institution’s founding ideology of providing superior patient care at an affordable cost. Adding to the pride of the moment, Dr. I. Jyothi Padmaja, the Principal of GIMSR Medical College, highlighted the remarkable accomplishments of the institution’s students, faculty, and staff. She also showcased the cutting-edge teaching & research initiatives being successfully implemented at GIMSR.

The GIMSR Graduation Ceremony also bestowed the prestigious President’s Gold Medal, upon Dr. Chaparala Lokesh, the Best Outgoing Student of the current MBBS batch, for his exceptional dedication and remarkable achievements.

In recognition of her outstanding accomplishments, Dr. Ananyaa Sinha received the esteemed Smt. Vimala Garimella Memorial Award for the Best Outgoing Woman Student, accompanied by a cash prize of Rupees ten thousand. Additionally, deserving students who excelled in individual subjects throughout the various phases of the MBBS program were honored with merit certificates and medals.

The ceremony was attended by the GITAM leadership team, including Prof. D. Gunasekaran, Registrar, GITAM, Mr Thapovardhan, governing body member of GITAM, Dr.V.V.L. Narasimha Rao, Superintendent, GIMSR Hospital, and Dr. M. Harini, Vice-Principal, GIMSR, Principals and Deans.