Raipur, 8 March 2018

On the occasion of International Women’s Day, Chief Minister Dr Raman Singh has announced special award scheme for women of Chhattisgarh. Chief Minister was addressing the Livelihood Convention organized on the occasion of International Women’s Day in Somni village of Rajnandgaon district today afternoon. He said that in the field of cleanliness and livelihood, women self-help groups and women will be provided award of Rs 1.50 lakh in the name of Cleanliness Ambassador of Chhattisgarh Mrs. Kunwar Bai.

Dr Singh also announced that an education hub will be developed in Rajnandgaon district at the cost of Rs 12 crore, and said that in this huge educational premise, 33 per cent seats will be reserved for girls. The convention was organized by State Rural Livelihood Mission, on behalf of Panchayat and Rural Development Department. On the occasion, 30 women were provided e-rickshaw, three women were provided vehicle for taxi business and two women were provided cheques of financial aid for solar energy based mini cold storage, under Deendayal Antyoday Yojana- State Rural Livelihood Mission. Dr Singh distributed 20 micro ATMs to ‘Bank Sakhi’ women. He also distributed cheques of loan amount under Pradhan Mantri Mudra Yojana. Dr Singh also gave away offer letter for employment to 25 youth, on completion of their skill development training.

Chief Minister said in the convention that Padumlal Punnulal Bakshi Higher Secondary School and Maharani Lakshibai Higher Secondary School of Rajnandgaon district will be developed as smart schools. He announced sanction of Rs 10 lakh for development works in Somni. Dr Raman Singh said- women are actively participating in the campaign to make Chhattisgarh open defecation free under Prime Minister Mr. Narendra Modi’s Clean India Mission. Dr Singh launched Chuppi Todo, Sanwarta Bachpan and Suposhan Abhiyan. In the programme, best women self help groups were also felicitated. The programme was attended by Panchayat and Rural Development Minister Mr. Ajay Chandrakar, MP Mr. Abhishek Singh, and Padmshri Ms Phoolbasab Yadav. Mayor Mr. Madhusudan Yadav and other senior public representatives were also present.