New Delhi – The Ministry of Health and Family Welfare administers a Centrally Sponsored Scheme for Establishment of new Medical Colleges attached with existing district/referral hospitals. Under the Phase-I of this Scheme, three districts in Bihar namely, Purnia, Saran (Chhapra) and Samastipur have been identified to establish new medical colleges. Purnia and Saran (Chhapra) have been approved for establishment of new medical colleges and funds to the tune of Rs.108.00 crore have been released to the State Government of Bihar. DPR for medical college at Samastipur has not been approved due to land related issue. In this regard, the Ministry has requested State Government of Bihar several times to identify land or to submit alternative proposal.

Under the Phase-II of this Scheme, five blocks were identified in Bihar for establishment of new medical colleges on Challenge Mode. The State Government has selected Sitamarhi, Jhanjharpur, Siwan, Buxar and Jamui under the above Scheme. Detailed Project Reports (DPRs) have been received from the State Government. However, DPRs have not been approved by the Ministry as land is not available at any of the 5 locations at present. The State Government has been requested to identify the land as early as possible.

The Minister of State (Health and Family Welfare), Ashwini Kumar Choubey stated this in a written reply in the Rajya Sabha here today.