New Delhi – Narendra Modi led NDA government survived the no-confidence motion on Friday. Out of 451 votes, 325 voted against the motion and supported Modi government. Only 126 opposition members led by Congress could vote for no-confidence.

This gives both the Opposition and the ruling party an opportunity to corner each other on several issues as they approach assembly polls in Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh and Rajasthan and inch closer to the general elections in 2019.

The Telugu Desam Party was the first of several Opposition parties to move no-confidence motions. The TDP was a member of the Bharatiya Janata Party-run National Democratic Alliance until March, when it quite the coalition citing unhappiness with the Centre’s treatment of Andhra Pradesh.